Permanent irrigation scheme sought

Permanent irrigation scheme sought

Farm loans at reduced rate of interest, shelter for roofless, payment of compensation under crop insurance scheme, enforcement of Right to Food, a permanent irrigation scheme for district, promotion of sericulture and dairy farming, payment of drought relief and redressing power shortage, are the resolutions adopted at the 2-day convention, informed Sangha district president P R Suryanarayana at a press meet, recently.

He said the Sangha will launch agitation to ensure the enforcement of the resolutions.
The district-level committees of Karnataka Prantha Raitha Sangha for Kolar and Chikkaballapur were reconstituted on the occasion.

The following are the new office-bearers of the farmers organisation in two districts.

Kolar district

Surayanarayana - president, M Ramachandra and T Krishnegowda - vice presidents, T M Venkatesh- general secretary, Gangamma and P R Naveen Kumar - joint secretaries.

Chikkaballapur district

Gangiredddy - president, Siddagangappa - vice president, C Gopinath - general secretary and G N Sriramppa - joint secretary.