Eligibility test mandatory for schoolteachers

The screening exam will be held on June 1
Last Updated 22 April 2014, 19:17 IST

The Department of Public Instruction (DPI) will hold the Teachers’ Eligibility Test (TET) starting this year, as a screening test for teachers.

The TET has become mandatory for those who wish to become teachers in government or private schools across the State. A notification was issued by the DPI in this regard on Monday.

The department has invited online applications till May 3. The test, which will be held on June 1, will comprise two parts: A first paper from 9.30 am to 12 noon and a second paper from 2 pm to 4.30 pm.

Addressing reporters, the commissioner of Public Instruction, Mohammed Mohsin, said that the tests will take place under two categories: primary and secondary.

For those attempting the primary paper, the minimum qualification is PUC or higher secondary examination pass with a minimum of 50 per cent marks.

For the secondary education paper, the applicant should be a degree holder along with a necessary degree in the teaching profession, such as, BEd or DEd. To know more about the details for eligibility, candidates may log onto

Mohsin said that the candidates from general category and other backward castes appearing for both the papers will have to deposit Rs 800, while for either the first or second paper, they will have to pay Rs 500.

Candidates who belong to the SC/ ST and handicapped categories will have to pay Rs 400 for two papers, while, for a single paper, they will have to deposit Rs 250. He added that the required pass per cent for the general category is 60 per cent for general category, whereas it is 55 per cent for the SC/ST.

The commissioner said, “Those who pass the exam will be given a pass certificate, which will be valid for seven years. Candidates who get a job and continue in one organisation will not have to re-appear for the TET, but if they opt for a fresh appointment after seven years, they will have to appear for the TET again.”

He added that the National Council for Teachers’ Education and the Right to Education Act - 2009 mandate for the TET across India, because of which it will take place every year.

(Published 22 April 2014, 19:17 IST)

Follow us on