Repolling peaceful in Bihar

Repolling peaceful in Bihar

Repolling peaceful in Bihar

Repoll at 30 booths in Bihar passed off peacefully today with 57.3 per cent voters turning out to exercise their franchise.

The high turnout took place despite the poll time being reduced by three hours from the normal 7 AM - 6 PM schedule to 7 AM - 3 PM.

These polling stations were spread over Katihar, Banka and Supaul constituencies, which had gone to polls with four others - Purnia, Araria, Kishanganj and Bhagalpur - on April 24, during the third phase of general elections in the state.

The Election Commission had ordered repoll at these polling stations as the EVMs developed fault and could not be replaced on time.

"The voting at 22 polling stations in Katihar was the highest at 59 per cent, followed by 56.89 per cent at six polling stations in Banka and 56 per cent at two polling stations in Supaul," Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshmanan said.

The EC has appointed Sanjay Bhusreddy, a Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS officer of 1989 batch as special observer for Maharajganj and Saran Lok Sabha constituencies.

Two non-bailable warrants were issued against Maharajganj RJD candidate Prabhunath Singh last week after he violated the Model Code of Conduct and allegedly threatened the District Magistrate there.

Saran constituency is witnessing a direct contest between former Bihar Chief Minister and RJD candidate Rabri Devi and BJP General Secretary Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

EC is also geared up for the fourth phase of general elections in the state on April 30 in seven constituencies - Madhubani, Jhanjharpur, Darbhanga, Samastipur, Madhepura, Begusarai and Khagaria.

The assembly constituency Sahebpur Kamal is also going to polls in this phase.

"EC has decided to reduce the poll timings for Mahisi assembly segment of Madhepura parliamentary constituency, as well as, Simri Bakhtiyarpur and Alauli assembly segments of Khagaria parliamentary constituency by two hours because of security reasons. Voting at these places will be held from 7 AM to 4 PM," Lakshmanan said. 

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox