Ganguly stands firm in Bengal collapse

Ganguly stands firm in Bengal collapse

Batting at number five after UP captain Mohammad Kaif had inserted Bengal, Ganguly steadied his side’s innings after they were reduced to 20 for three within the first hour.
Opener Deep Dasgupta was out in the first over for a duck while wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha and Manoj Tiwary fell for seven and one respectively, in quick succession.

Ganguly, who hit nine fours and a six from the 123 balls he faced, shared an 81-run partnership for the fourth wicket with opener Arindam Das (46) to raise the hope of a revival.

Later, captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla made a useful 39 off 64 balls, with the help of three fours and two sixes, to stretch the Bengal total near the 200-mark. For Uttar Pradesh, leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and pacer Praveen Kumar shared the spoils with seven wickets between them. Chawla returned figures of four for 51 while Praveen took three for wickets for 54 runs. RP Singh chipped in with 2/37.

In reply, Uttar Pradesh did not open account in the four balls they faced before stumps.
Brief scores (Super League):

Group A: At Surat: Gujarat: 144/5 in 59 overs (Timil Patel 25, Niraj Patel 27, Parthiv Patel 57; Vikramjeet Malik 3-22) vs Himachal Pradesh.

At Hyderabad: Railways: 211/5 in 90 overs (Faiz Fazal 69, Yere Goud 70 n.o.; Alfred Absolem 2-61, MP Arjun 2-53) vs Hyderabad.

At Mumbai: Tamil Nadu: 251/5 in 90 overs (S Badrinath 123 n.o., C Ganapathy 70 n.o.; Dhawal Kulkarni 2-46, Usman Maulvi 3-67) vs Mumbai.  At Chandigarh: Orissa: 232/7 in 82.1 overs (Bikas Patil 52, Niranjan Behera 72, Pravanjan Mullick 28, Alok Chandra Sahoo 29 n.o.; Love Ablish 5-86) vs Punjab.
Group B: At Vadodara: Saurashtra: 127 all out in 35 overs (Sagar Jogiyani 36, Rakesh Dhurv 26; Irfan Pathan 3-41, Munaf Patel 5-48, Firdaush Bhaja 2-32) and 4/0 vs Baroda: 124 all out in 40.5 overs (Sandeep Jobanputra 2-30, Sandip Maniar 3-65, Jayesh Odedra 5-28).
At Delhi: Delhi: 344/4 in 90 overs (Ankur Julka 33, Mithun Manhas 166 n.o., Rajat Bhatia 99; Samad Fallah 2-91) vs Maharashtra.
At Kanpur: Bengal: 193 all out in 78.1 overs (Arindam Das 46, Saurav Ganguly 66, Laxmi Ratan Shukla 39; Praveen Kumar 3-54, RP Singh 2-37, Piyush Chawla 4-51) vs Uttar Pradesh: 0 for no loss in 0.4 overs.