LS polls: Dists all set to count the votes

LS polls: Dists all set to count the votes

Deputy Commissioner Ajay Nagabushan, who is also the District Electoral Officer for the recently held Lok Sabha election, said foolproof arrangements have been made for the counting of votes on May 16.

Addressing media persons, here, on Wednesday, the DC said, 16 rooms — two each for eight Assembly constituencies under Mandya LS constituency — have been readied at the Government Boys College, in the city, for the purpose and that counting would begin at 8 am.

He said, a total of 890 personnel — comprising one counting supervisor, two counting assistants and one micro observer for each table — would be involved in the process, and the tables will be alloted at 5 am itself in the presence of the Election Observer.

The Strong Room, where the sealed ballot boxes have been secured, will be opened at 7 am in the presence of the Observer and either the candidates themselves or their agents.

All proceedings will be recorded as CCTV cameras have been installed at the entrance of the Strong Room. Candidates can deploy an agent to each table and identity cards have already been issued to them. They should restrict themselves to their designated tables till the counting process completes, he said.

The results, after every round of counting, will be announced on loud-speakers and hence the people outside the counting centre can get a clear picture of the proceedings.

Superintendent of Police Bushan Bhorase said, an additional SP, three DySPs, eight inspectors, 52 assistant sub-inspectors, 267 constables, 27 women constables, 300 homeguards, 16 DAR platoons and four KSRP platoons will be deployed for security during counting of votes.

He said, an additional 32 mobile squads will be patrolling the counting centre premises and surrounding areas to avert any untoward incident.