Post bifurcation, first session of AP Assembly begins tomorrow

Last Updated 18 June 2014, 10:42 IST

The first session of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly will begin at 11.52 AM, the auspicious muhurtam decided by Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, in the old Assembly building here tomorrow.

Protem Speaker P Narayanaswamy will administer the oath of office to the newly-elected members of the Assembly.

After the oath-taking, the House will pay homage to MLA-elect T Prabhakar Rao, who died of heart-attack two days ago, and adjourn for the day.

There will be two vacancies in the 175-member Assembly due to death of Prabhakar Rao (after the election) and Bhuma Sobha Nagi Reddy (days before the election).

Though the election results were declared on May 16, the Assembly session could not be convened because the state bifurcation process was underway and formally completed on June 2.

The new government in Andhra Pradesh assumed office on June 8 with the swearing-in of the Chief Minister and the ministers.

The state Cabinet met on June 12 and decided to conduct the first session of the Assembly from June 19 for the oath-taking of members and customary address of the Governor.

At 9.22 AM on June 20, election will be held for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Assembly, according to Legislative Affairs Ministers Yanamala Ramakrishnudu.

Governor E S L Narasimhan would address the joint sitting of Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly at 8.55 AM on June 21.

After a day's break, the House would take up debate on motion of thanks to the Governor's address on June 23 and 24, Ramakrishnudu said.

He reviewed the security arrangements with Director General of Police (in charge) J V Ramudu, Legislature Secretary (in charge) K Satyanarayana Rao and other top officials.

About 1,200 police personnel were being posted for security duty at the Assembly, the DGP said.

"The Hyderabad city police will take care of the security aspect. If additional force is required, we will deploy personnel from Andhra Pradesh," the DGP said.

Permanent security arrangements would be made after the new Speaker takes charge, he added.

The old office of Telugu Desam Legislature Party has been converted into the chamber of Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu.

(Published 18 June 2014, 10:42 IST)

Follow us on