Poll-stung Maya shifts more officers

Poll-stung Maya shifts more officers

Although official sources termed the transfers as routine, majority of the shunted officers were posted in the districts, where the BSP nominees lost in the LS polls. The state government had transferred 34 IPS officers, including the police chiefs of 17 districts, and 13 IAS officers since Friday.

Incidentally, the transfers come close on the heels of complaints by the BSP leaders to the CM that the officials did not “cooperate” with them during the polls.

Those shunted included chiefs of the districts of Maharajganj, Allahabad, Bareilly, Baghpat, Raebareli, Sultanpur, Mainpuri, Unnao, Gautam Budh Nagar, Balrampur, Banda, Etah, Sidharthnagar, Chandauli, Budaon, Kheri and Meerut. The BSP candidates had lost to their opponents in these places.

The large-scale transfers have triggered anger in the bureaucracy, as they feel they are being punished for being honest. A home department spokesman, however, denied the transfers had anything to do with the BSP’s performance in the polls.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)