Vasisht, Harsha emerge champs

Vasisht, Harsha emerge champs

Vasisht, Harsha emerge champs

Top seed Vasisht V Cheruku of Karnataka won the boys under-18 singles title with a 6-1, 6-3 victory over the third seed Mayukh Rawat of Uttarakhand in the final of the MP Prakash Memorial AITA Championship Series tennis tournament at the KSLTA courts here on Friday.

Vasisht played to a plan, attacking his rival with his big forehand and pinpoint down the line returns. He kept varying the pace and direction to throw the hard hitting Rawat off guard. 

Eighth seed Harsha Sai Challa prevailed over the sixth seed Mahak Jain 2-6, 6-2, 6-3 in the girls’ under-18 final while Raghav Jaisinghani of Madhya Pradesh defeated second seed N Manaz of Tamil Nadu 6-1, 6-3 in the boys’ under-16 final.

Rashmika Rajan of Karnataka took the girls under-16 singles title without taking the court as her rival, Shrivalli Rashmika of AP, conceded a walkover. Shrivalli had to leave for Guwahati this morning for a Super series event. 

Results (all finals): Boys U-18: Vasisht V Cheruku (Kar) bt Mayukh Rawat (Utk ) 6-1, 6-3.

U-16: Raghav Jaisinghani (MP ) bt N Manaz (TN ) 6-1, 6-3.

Girls U-18: Harsha Sai Challa (AP) bt Mahak Jain (Mah ) 2-6, 6-2, 6-3. 

U-16: Rashmika Rajan (Kar) w/o Shrivalli Rashmika (AP).