Four schools deny admission under RTE, govt tells HC

Four schools deny admission under RTE, govt tells HC

 The government on Monday submitted to the High Court that four schools had denied admission under the RTE Act and that it would take appropriate steps against the schools and ensure that children are given admission.

The government counsel submitted the report of the Deputy Director of Public Instruction given by the ‘examining committee’ stating four schools were bound to admit students under the RTE Act.

The schools – Vibgyor at NS Palya, Somasandra Palya and Vittasandra, and St Mira’s School had not admitted students under the RTE quota despite not having the minority status.

The report stated that Clarence School had secured minority status and Christ School was given the status on March 20 by the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions. The court has granted a stay on admissions to St Xavier’s School.The bench adjourned the matter for nearing on August on Wednesday.

VRS for NGEF staff

The High Court on Monday sought to know the State government’s view on implementing the Voluntary Retirement Scheme (VRS) for NGEF employees. 

Hearing a petition filed by M C Krishnappa and four others, all employees of NGEF, Justice Dilip B Bhosale asked the government to submit its view in the next hearing.
 The petitioners have challenged the 2009 notification issued by the government which states that the employees would be given the benefits of VRS as per the scheme implemented in 2002. The petitioners have sought that the government should pay the benefits as per the scheme implemented in 1998 as it has more benefits than the one implemented in 2002.