Police medals for 35 CISF men

Thirty-five personnel from the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) were among the over 900 police personnel who were selected for Independence Day police medals.

Among them were four CISF personnel who fought off an attack by a group of 200 Moists on the Kargali campus of Central Coalfields Ltd (CCL) in Jharkhand's Bokaro on March 4, 2012.

Inspector Ashok Kumar Rai, Sub-Inspector J B Yadav and Constables Uttam Basumatary and Kulodhar Das, who were part of the 26-member team that took on the Maoists, were selected for the Police Medal for Gallantry.

The citation for these officers said that at midnight, a squad of 200-odd Maoists launched an attack aided by heavy firing on the North Karanpur and Piparwar side of the CCL installation with an aim to breach and loot the premises.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)