De Kock's feat studs SA win

De Kock's feat studs SA win

Quinton de Kock tied a one-day international record as South Africa beat Zimbabwe by 61 runs on Tuesday to take a 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

The 21-year-old wicketkeeper-opening batsman made 38 to equal the mark of England's Jonathan Trott in reaching the landmark of 1,000 runs in only 21 one-day games.

Faf du Plessis top-scored with 55 as South Africa were bowled out for 257 in 49.4 overs after being put in to bat.

It was only the third time in 34 one-day international meetings that Zimbabwe had bowled out their southern African rivals.

Out-of-form South Africa captain AB de Villiers was involved in a bizarre dismissal.

He missed a delivery from spinner Prosper Utseya and, in the mistaken belief that Richmond Mutumbami did the same, set off for a single only for the bemused wicketkeeper to run him out for one.

Score board


Quinton de Kock c Chigumbura b Nyumbu 38, Hashim Amla B Nyumbu 15, Faf du Plessis c Chigumbura b Utseya 55, AB de Villiers (run out) 1, JP Duminy b Utseya 36, David Miller lbw Vitori 45, Ryan McLaren c Chigumbura b Vitori 4, Wayne Parnell c Williams b Madziva 24, Kyle Abbott c Sikandar b Williams 23, Aaron Phangiso c Nyumbu b Williams 2, Imran Tahir (not out) 0. Extras (LB-7, W-7) 14. Total (all out, 49.4 overs) 257.

Fall of wickets: 1-47, 2-59, 3-60, 4-129, 5-169, 6-204, 7-211, 8-252, 9-257.

Bowling: Brian Vitori 9-0-57-2, Prosper Utseya 10-1-39-2, Neville Madziva 5-0-27-1, John Nyumbu 10-0-44-2, Luke Jongwe 2-0-20-0, Sikandar Raza 2-0-15-0, Sean Williams 9.4-0-37-2, Elton Chigumbura 2-0-11-0.


Hamilton Masakadza b Parnell 7, Richmond Mutumbami lbw Phangiso 12, Sikandar Raza b Mclaren 0, Brendan Taylor c Miller b Duminy 14, Sean Williams c Parnell b McLaren 55, Elton Chigumbura c Duminy b Parnell 7, Luke Jongwe c Alma b McLaren 6, Prosper Utseya lbw Parnell 15, Neville Madziva b Tahir 25, John Nyumbu c de Kock b Tahir 18, Brian Vitori (not out) 20. Extras (B-2, LB-8, W-6, NB-1) 17. Total (all out, 49.1 overs) 196.

Fall of wickets: 1-21, 2-21, 3-26, 4-45, 5-59, 6-88, 7-114, 8-134, 9-175.

Bowling: Kyle Abbott 8-2-19-0, Wayne Parnell 9-2-28-3, Aaron Phangiso 8-2-34-1, Ryan McLaren 8-0-21-3, JP Duminy 7-0-58-1, Imran Tahir 9.1-1-26-2.