Bypoll turnout put at 78.36 pc

Bypoll turnout put at 78.36 pc

The bypolls for the three Assembly constituencies in the State on Thursday witnessed an average turnout of 78.36 per cent with Chikodi-Sadalaga constituency in Belgaum clocking the highest polling percentage of 83.53.

The final voting figures were announced by the Election Commission of India on Friday. In Shikaripura, which witnessed a straight fight between B Y Raghavendra of the BJP and H S Shantaveerappa Gowda of the Congress, 78.26 per cent of the 1.77 lakh voters exercised their franchise. 

The Bellary Rural constituency which witnessed a pitched battle between Oblesh of the BJP and N Y Gopalakrishna of the Congress witnessed a relatively less voters turnout of 73.3 per cent.

The Chikodi-Sadalaga constituency has shown increase in polling percentage compared to 2013 Assembly polls, while Shikaripura and Bellary have clocked a decline.  In 2013 Assembly polls, Chikkodi clocked 80.03 per cent, while Bellary and Shikaripura registered 75.28 and 80.24 per cent respectively.

Counting of votes will be taken up on August 25.