26 legislators fail to submit details of assets to Karnataka Lokayukta

26 legislators fail to submit details of assets to Karnataka Lokayukta

Former Karnataka Chief Minister and JDS leader H D Kumaraswamy is among 26 legislators who have failed to submit their statement of assets and liabilities to the Lokayukta before the deadline.

Congress MLC and spokesman V S Ugrappa, former minister Gurapadappa Nagamarpally (BJP) and industrialist Ashok Kheny (Independent) are among others in the list of defaulters cut across party lines.

The Karnataka Lokayukta Act mandates member of the state legislature to submit a statement of his assets and liabilities and those of the members of his family to Lokayukta in a prescribed form before 30 June every Year.

On failing to submit the statement, the act mandates Lokayukta to make a report to the competent authority about non submission.

It also requires a copy of the report to be sent to the concerned public servant, and in spite of this if he/she fails to comply with the requirement of the act within two months of such report, Lokayukta can publish the names of defaulters.

Listing the names of 20 MLAs and six MLCs for defaulting from submitting the required statement of assets and liabilities for the year 2013-14, Lokayukta in a release said their names are being published for failing to comply despite the copy of a report being served to them dated July 1.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)