Guj by-polls:BJP wins Vadodara LS seat by over 3.29 lakh votes

Guj by-polls:BJP wins Vadodara LS seat by over 3.29 lakh votes

The BJP today retained the prestigious Vadodara Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat vacated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, with a huge margin of more than 3.29 lakh votes.

"BJP candidate Ranjanben Bhatt has won the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat against Congress's nominee Narendra Rawat by a margin of 3,29,507 votes," District Collector and returning officer in Vadodara Lok Sabha seat, Avantika Singh told PTI.

Bhatt secured 5,26,763 votes out of the total 7,32,339 votes polled in the constiteuncy, while Rawat managed to get 1,97,256 votes, Singh said.

In the general elections this year, Modi had set a record margin by winning the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat by 5,70,128 votes against Congress General secretary and party's candidate Madhusudan Mistry.

Modi had got 8,45,464 votes out of the total 11.63 lakhs votes polled in the seat, while Mistry managed 2,75,336 votes.

According to Singh, 14,257 voters went for None of the Above (NOTA) option.

Two independents in the fray lost their deposits, she said.

By-polls were held in Vadodara Lok Sabha constituency as Modi vacated this seat after choosing to retain Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

By-polls were held for one Lok Sabha and nine Assembly seats in the state on September 13. In the 2009 elections, BJP's Balu Shukla had won the constituency with the margin of 1.36 lakh votes.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)