Mijo sets new record

 Mijo Chacko set new 1500M meet record on the concluding day of the VTU 17th inter-collegiate athletics meet here on Saturday.

The Srinivas Institute Of Technology athlete clocked 4:21.60, obliterating G Ponnappa’s record of 4:25.80 set in 2011-12. JNN College Of Engineering’s Vijay Kumar SM clinched silver while Niranjan Jain of Acharya Institute Of Technology pocketed bronze.

NMAMIT Nitte emerged overall champions while Salman Abbas of Reva Institute of Technology and Manisha of NMAM were adjudged the best athletes in the men’s and women’s sections respectively.

Results: Men: 100M: Salman Abbas (Reva Institute Of Technology & Management) 1; Riyaz Mohd (NMAM Institute Of Technology, Nitte) 2; Akshay Krishna (New Horizon College Of Engineering) 3. T: 10.98. 1500M: Mijo Chacko (Srinivas Institute Of Technology) 1; Vijay Kumar SM (JNN College Of Engineering) 2; Niranjan Jain (Acharya Institute Of Technology) 3. T: 4:21.60. Half -marathon: Deepu TM (Kalpataru Institute Of Technology) 1; Ashok RS (VTU Regional Office) 2; Rohan Devaiah KA (National Institute Of Engineering) 3. T: 1::19:57.72. Hammer throw: Mohammed Sufiran Akrani (Oxford College Of Engineering) 1; Syed Usaial SM (Anjuman Institute Of Technology & Management) 2; Varun Kumar (Vivekananda College Of Engineering & Technology, Puttur) 3. D: 39.39 metres. Pole vault: Nityananda (NNMAM Institute Of Technology) 1; Avi Tandon (BMS Institute Of Technology) 2; Maheshwar Reddy (Acharya Institute Of Technology) 3. D: 3.45. 4x400M relay: Srinivas Institute Of Technology (3:36.04) 1; JNN College Of Engineering (3:41.72) 2; Sahyadri College Of Engineering & Management (3:43.59) 3.
Women: 100M: Chandana KG (Siddaganga Institute Of Technology) 1; Vaishnavi Shetty (Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute Of Technology) 2; Divyshree R (Raja Rajeswari College Of Engineering) 3. T: 13.88. Half-marathon: Shraddha Rani Desai (NMAM Institute Of Technology) 1; Nandini G (Sahyadri College Of Engineering & Management) 2; Alushu Kumari (Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute Of Technology, Bangalore) 3. T: 1::41:18.20. Hammer throw: Shruthi MS (Don Bosco Institute Of Technology) 1; Rajeshree J Rai (Alva's Institute Of Engg & Tech) 2; Satvika J Rai (Sahyadri College Of Engineering & Management) 3. D: 20.96. 4x400M: NMAM Institute Of Technology (4:48.88) 1; Alva's Institute Of Engg & Tech (4:55.94) 2; Sahyadri College Of Engineering & Management (4:58.04) 3.
Best athlete: Men: Salman Abbas (Reva Institute of Technology). Women: Manisha (NMAM Institute of Technology).
Overall champions: NMAMIT Nitte.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)