Karthikeyan bags five, but Goa manage to force draw

Karthikeyan bags five, but Goa manage to force draw

After gaining a 43-run lead, Karnataka declared their second innings at 247 for four from 61.4 overs  after resuming at their overnight 63 for two. AP Abhishek was the architect of Karnataka’s good score with a century. The youngster struck an unbeaten 110 off 159 (16x4). PV Preetham (91) too made a big contribution with a near-century effort.

Needing 291 for an outright win, Goa managed to hang on to a draw, finishing the day at 146 for seven in 65 overs. Left-arm spinner RS Karthikeyan was the pick of Karnataka bowlers, claiming five for 56. 

Brief scores: At NRA: Karnataka: 187 all out in 80 overs and (O/n: 63/2) 247/4 decl in 61.4 overs (AP Abhishek 110 n.o., PV Preetham 91; Neeraj Yadav 3-38) drew Goa: 144 all out in 46.5 overs and 146/7 in 65 overs (Adish Desau 28, Gopal Mahale 55; RS Karthikeyan 5-56, Pranav Vajapeyam 2-42).

At RWF: Tamil Nadu: 364 all out in 110.5 overs drew Kerala (O/n: 41/1): 289/6 in 128 overs (Vinayak Moorthy 129 n.o., Anuj Jothin 65, Ankush Hari 41; U Manikandan 2-43, SR Hari Krish 2-38).

At IAF: Andhra: 320 all out in 96.2 overs and 98/3 in 30 overs (Jayavaradne 60) drew Hyderabad: 464/8 decl in 129 overs (KSK Chaitanya 59, Rahul Singh 156, Vishwanath Reddy 31; Saleem Baig 3-161).