Team retained for Ranji semis

Syed Kirmani’s panel has kept faith with the same unit that did duty under Rahul Dravid in the quarterfinal tie against Punjab in Mysore last week.

Karnataka won through to the semifinal by virtue of their 78-run first-innings lead after the four-day encounter ended in a tame draw.

This will be the second meeting between Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh this season. Karnataka had kicked off their Super League Group A campaign in Meerut in early November with a commanding 185-run win over Mohammad Kaif’s men.

An encore will put them in the final of the Ranji Trophy for the first time since 1999, when they defeated Madhya Pradesh to win the last of their six Ranji crowns.
In the other semifinal Delhi will travel to Mumbai to take on Wasim Jaffer’s men.
The squad: Rahul Dravid (capt), Robin Uthappa, KB Pawan, Amit Verma, Manish Pandey, CM Gautam, Ganesh Satish, Sunil Joshi, R Vinay Kumar, A Mithun, S Aravind, Stuart Binny, Udit Patel, KP Appanna, Aditya Sagar. Coach: K Sanath Kumar. Assistant coach: Somashekar Shiraguppi. Manager:  R Ananth.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0