Proud to be part of select group: Vengsarkar

Proud to be part of select group: Vengsarkar

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar received the prestigious BCCI-instituted Col C K Nayudu Lifetime achievement award for his contribution to Indian cricket.

The 58-year-old Vengsarkar played 116 Test matches after coming into national prominence with a hundred for Mumbai against the Rest of India in the Irani Cup game at the start of the 1975-76 season.

He was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 and the World Championship of Cricket in 1985, and he led India in ten Tests in 1987-89. He was Chairman of the BCCI’s Talent Research Development Committee for three years, and the Chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the period, 2006-08.

“I thank BCCI for this honour. Looking at the names of players who have won the award makes me proud to be part of this select group,” said Vengsarkar.

Vengsarkar also thanked his school (King George of old and Raja Shivaji now), Podar College, Mumbai university, Dadar Union Club and also former BCCI joint secretary Prof. Chandgadkar for the help they gave him during his playing days.

“I dreamed of playing for Mumbai and then for India and I enjoyed every innings, Test match, ODI and every tour as part of the Indian team,” said Vengsarkar, who received the award from Board’s interim president Shivlal Yadav.

He also wished the Indian cricket team success in the upcoming tour of Australia for which the team is to depart later tonight as well as in the World Cup that follows.

Indian medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rohit Sharma, both members of the squad that is to leave for Australia tonight, were also rewarded for their stupendous displays in the season.

Bhuvneshwar received the Polly Umrigar award and a cheque of Rs 5 lakh for his superb display with ball and bat while Rohit received a special award for slamming a world record 264 in the fourth ODI against Sri Lanka in the recent series.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)