1.64L contestants in fray for first phase of GP polls

1.64L contestants in fray for first phase of GP polls

1.64L contestants in fray for first phase of GP polls

As many as 1,64,161 candidates will contest the gram panchayat polls in the first phase on May 29, while 1,60,098 are in the fray for the second phase, scheduled for June 2.

According the State Election Commission, the 1.64 lakh-odd candidates will contest for 48,621 seats in 3,156 Gram Panchayats during the first phase. While 349 seats will remain uncontested, SEC has rejected 2,761 nominations, of the total 1,70,358 nominations received.

In the second phase, the 1.60 lakh odd candidates will battle it out for 45,755 seats in 2,681 villages. As many as 270 seats will remain uncontested. Of the 1,67,788 nominations received, 2,970 have been rejected.

In the first phase, Mysuru, Chamarajanagar, Chikkamagalur, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Udupi, Belagavi, Vijayapura, Haveri, Bagalkot, Uttar Kannada, Dharwad and Gadag districts will go for polls.

During the second phase, polling will be held in Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural, Ramanagara, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Kolar, Chikkaballapura, Shivamogga, Tumakuru, Bidar, Ballari, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Raichur and Koppal. Counting will be held in all the taluk headquarters on June 5.

The State BJP on Tuesday submitted a memorandum to SEC Commissioner P N Shrinivasachari, seeking him to announce reservation for the posts of president and vice-president of the gram panchayats, before the declaration of results.

The delegation led by C T Ravi and Suresh Kumar appealed to the SEC to consider their request, as there would be room for manipulating the reservation list, after the results are announced.