IITM row: DMK, VCK stage protests

IITM row: DMK, VCK stage protests

DMK and Dalit outfit VCK today staged protests against the derecognition of a students' body at IIT, Madras after a complaint that it was critical of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

About 200 volunteers of DMK's student wing, who protested under its Secretary Ela.Pugazhenthi, were detained, police said.

The protestors demanded that the derecognition be rolled back immediately and sought Modi's intervention for the same.

Similarly, VCK founder Tho.Thirumavalavan, who had led a protest separately, was also detained, police said.

The parties were protesting against the derecognition of Ambedkar Periyar Study Circle at IIT, Madras, for allegedly inciting hatred against Modi.

The incident has landed the institute in a raging row with Congress and AAP, besides the Left parties, criticising the move.

DMK chief M Karunanidhi had yesterday sought the Prime Minister's intervention in withdrawing the derecognition of the students body.

"Though it seems that Prime Minister Modi doesn't place importance on needless issues like banning a democratic group, his Ministers interfering unilaterally and in an authoritarian manner in such issues will impede youth's thought process and affect the nation's peace," he had said in an apparent reference to Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani.
IIT, Madras had however maintained that "as per the guidelines in force, student bodies cannot use the name of IIT Madras or its official entities in any capacity to publicise their activities or garner support without official permission."

"This group has violated the guidelines while conducting their meeting," Prof Ramamurthy, Acting Director, had said last week.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)