3 State PSUs bag CM's award

The Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited (KPTCL), the Mangalore Electricity Supply Company and the B R Ambedkar Development Corporation were conferred with the Chief Minister’s Ratna award for 2014-15 on Monday.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah presented the award in Bengaluru. The annual award is given to State-run Public Sector Undertakings (PSU) that have made profit for three years in a row. Besides, a PSU should have complied with the corporate social responsibility norms to qualify for the award.

A committee headed by Additional Chief Secretary to the Department of Public Enterprises selects the PSUs for the award, which carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.Speaking after giving away the award, Siddaramaiah said about 45 of the 60 State PSUs are now making profit. Governments in the past set up PSUs in order to create employment opportunities to people in the State. But now private sector is eager to invest. The State has a conducive atmosphere for investment, he added.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)