Rs 168-cr for Mandya-Keragodu-Kowdle road project: Minister

Rs 168-cr for Mandya-Keragodu-Kowdle road project: Minister

Housing and district incharge Minister M H Ambareesh appealed to farmers not to commit suicide and listed out the steps taken by the State government for the welfare of the farming community.

He was speaking after hoisting the national flag to mark the Independence Day at Sir M Visvesvaraya Stadium here on Saturday. Stating that the farmers of the district are hardworking, confident and self-respecting, he said that the government is with them.

“Hulikere tunnel, across the Visvesvaraya Canal from the KRS Dam, has been renovated and water is being released. However, due to the failure of monsoon rain and receding level of water in the dam, agriculture activities have been hit. But the government has initiated steps to tackle the situation,” he said.

Factories operational
Except Mysuru Sugar Company (MySugar), all sugar factories in the district will start operations for this season by the end of this month.

Steps will be taken to repair the machinery in MySugar factory and the it will start operations at the earliest. An amount of Rs 17.50 crore has been released to clear arrears payable to sugar cane growers, he said.

He said banks have been asked not to exert pressure on farmers to recover loan. “Illegal moneylenders will be reined in. The families of the victims of debt will get a compensation of Rs 2 lakh,” he said.

District development
Speaking about the development of the district, Ambareesh said, “Rs 168 crore has been earmarked for the long-pending Mandya-Keragodu-Kowdle road works and the Malavalli-Pavagada road has already been developed at a cost of Rs 570 crore. All towns in the district have got Rs 50 crore each for the development under the Nagarotthana project. To mark the platinum jubilee year, a Platinum Jubilee Bhavan will be constructed,” he added.

Zilla Panchayat President Komala Swamy, Taluk Panchayat President G P Mahesh, City Municipal Council President Lokesh, Vice-President Sumarani, councillors K C Ravindra, Mahesh Krishna, Keragodu Somashekhar, Mahesh and Sunitha were
among those present on the occasion.