BJP's Pranesh elected to Council

BJP candidate M K Pranesh made his way to the upper house of the State legislature for the first time after winning the Legislative Council election with a margin of 315 votes.

The stiff competition among Congress, BJP and JD(S) had created curiosity among the people. The result has put Congress candidate A V Gayatri Shantegowda and JD(S) candidate Ranjan Ajit Kumar down. Independent candidate H D Revanna has lost his deposit by earning only two votes.

In the first round of counting, Pranesh took the lead. But the first preference votes earned by him was not sufficient for deciding the results. Hence, the second preference votes earned by him were considered in the second round of counting and he was finally declared as the winner.

In the end of the first round of counting, BJP, Congress and JD(S) candidates had won 1154, 871 and 425 votes respectively. The independent candidate had won two votes. Eighty-six votes were invalid. Out of 2,544 votes, 2,538 were cast. The second round of counting was done as the percentage of first preference votes out of the total votes was less than 50 percent.  In the second round, the BJP candidate earned an additional of 84 votes by the second preference and Congress candidate won 52 second preference votes.

The counting started at 9.45 am. Pranesh, who had anticipated his victory, had arrived at the counting centre in morning. JD(S) candidate Ranjan Ajith Kumar was also present. However, Congress candidate A V Gayatri Shantegowda did not turn up.

The representatives from BJP, celebrated the victory of the candidate, by bursting crackers after getting the trends at 10 counting tables, in the first round of counting.

When the results were announced at 11 am, Pranesh was greeted by MLA D N Jeevaraj, former MLA M P Kumaraswamy, party election agent H D Thammaiah and others. The party workers raised victory slogans and distributed sweets. Pranesh and other BJP leaders were also taken in a procession in an open vehicle from STJ College to the party office ‘Panchajanya’.

Speaking on the occasion, Pranesh said that he dedicates his victory to all the leaders and workers of the party. He said he will work with all sincerity and voice the aspirations of the elected representatives from local bodies in the Legislative Council.

District Congress Committee (DCC) President Dr D L Vijayakumar said the party respects the mandate of the voters. An introspection will be done by the leaders and workers to find the reasons for its defeat. The party will gear up for the upcoming Zilla and Taluk Panchayat elections, he added.

“This kind of result is expected during a triangular fight and particularly, when the secular forces themselves turn against the party. All the leaders of the party have unitedly carried out efforts towards the elections. Unfortunately, the results were not in favour of the party,” he added.

MLA C T Ravi has said the results have made it clear that the voters have supported the development ideologies of BJP. The victory of the party will accelerate the all-round development of the region, he said and gave the credit of victory to all members of local bodies, party leaders and workers.
DH News Service

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0