Panchayat polls: Nominations to be filed from February 1 to 8

Panchayat polls: Nominations to be filed from February 1 to 8

The filing of nominations for the upcoming Panchayat elections will be held between February 1 and 8, from 11 am to 3 pm.

Yogish H R, deputy director of the Department of Agriculture – and also the Election Officer for the Zilla Panchayat elections – spoke to reporters at the tahsildar’s office in the Mini Vidhana Soudha on Thursday.

He said that in Dakshina Kannada, the elections will be held under the second phase. “February 8 is the last date to submit nominations, which will be scrutinised on February 9. February 11 is the last date to withdraw nominations.
The elections will be held on February 20 between 7 am and 5 pm. If needed, re-elections will be held on February 22,” he added.

The candidates may file their nominations at the Taluk Panchayat office at the Mini Vidhana Soudha, Mangaluru.

“Jene Mary Tauro, UPORR Investigation Officer, will be the assistant election officer for the  Zilla Panchayat elections. Muhammed Isac, Moodbidri special tahsildar, R B Shivashankarappa, Mangaluru tahsildar, Jnanesh, BEO (Mangaluru South), and Usman A, Women and Child Welfare Department development officer, will be the election officers for the Taluk Panchayat elections,” said Yogish.

“Every taluk panchayat election officer will be in charge of nine to 10 taluk panchayat constituencies. BEO Office, Moodbidri, Gazetted Manager Manohar Kamath, Social Welfare Department Gazetted Manager Hemachandra, District Backward Classes and Minority Welfare Office Manager Sundar Naik and BEO Office, Mangaluru North Block Resource Person Vasant Palan will be the assistant election officers for the Taluk Panchayat elections,” said the officer.

Mangaluru City Corporation Zonal Commissioner M K Pramila will be the nodal officer for observation of election model code of conduct, he added.

Yogish further said that there would be 342 polling booths in Mangaluru taluk. “As many as 39 sector officers and three flying squads have been appointed. There are 3,07,402 voters in the district. January 30 is the last date for citizens to enrol their names in the voters’ list,” he said.

“Counting will be done at the Mahatma Gandhi Centenary Higher Primary School, Bondel, in Mangaluru, on February 23 starting 8 am. A control room has been set up for receipt of public grievances related to the elections. The public can seek information or submit complaints by calling 2220587,” Yogish said.

KSP nominations

Election officer Shivashankarappa said that, three nominations had been received for the elections to the district unit of the Kannada Sahitya Parishat.

“Devaprasad Punaroor, Pradeep Kumar Kalkura and K Mohan Rao were the candidates. The verification was done on Thursday and all nominations have been accepted,” said the officer, adding, “There are 3,326 voters and 28 polling booths have been set up in the taluk centres of the district for the purpose.”