ZP polls: All nominations found in order in DK

All the 210 nominations received for the zilla panchayat election in the district are in order.

The zilla panchayat has 36 constituencies in Dakshina Kannada district —Mangaluru—10, Bantwal—9, Belthangady—7, Puttur—6 and Sullia —4. The constituencies in Mangaluru taluk have received the highest number of nomination papers - 63 - followed by Bantwal with 48, Belthangady with 45, Puttur with 34 and Sullia with 20 nomination papers.

Seven nominations received for taluk panchayat election have been rejected. The authorities had received 562 nominations for 136 taluk panchayat constituencies in the district. In Mangaluru taluk, one nomination paper has been rejected in Pavoor constituency. The name of the candidate who had filed the nomination was not included in the voters list.

In Puttur taluk, five nominations have been rejected. The four candidates, who had filed their nominations from various political parties from Nettanigemudnoor, Ariyadka, Sarvey and Kabaka, had failed to submit B form and hence their nominations were rejected. While another candidate, who had filed his nominations from Nettanigemudnoor, had a different signature in the affidavit and the nominations, as a result, the nomination was rejected.

In Sullia taluk, one nomination paper was rejected as the candidate who had filed nominations from Aranthodu constituency was only 20 years old. To contest an election, the individual should be 21 years old.

Polling details
The election to the zilla and taluk panchayat constituencies will be held between 7 am and 5 pm on February 20.

The last date for the withdrawal of nominations is February 11. Five former zilla panchayat presidents are contesting the election. They are Mamatha Gatti, Shailaja Bhat, Sucharitha Shetty, Asha Thimmappa Gowda and Koragappa Naik.

The State Election Commission has deputed G H Hirannayya, deputy director, Auditing, Hassan, as election observer related to poll expenditure. Basavarajendra, Keonics technical director as observer for Mangaluru division and Leelavathi K, Ayush Department chief administrative officer as observer for Puttur division.

DC warns action
Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim said the officials who have been deputed for election duty should not seek exemption.

Speaking at a meeting, he said he has been getting several appeals from the officials seeking exemption from election duty. In case if a person is seeking exemption on medical ground, then they have to produce the document pertaining to it, to the DC’s office. The genuine reasons will be looked into. However, if anyone tries to evade the duty citing silly reasons, then disciplinary action will be taken against them, he warned.

The DC said that there are reports on a few villagers threatening to boycott the election. The tahsildars should visit such villages and convince the voters to take part in election, he said.
DH News Service

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)