Fifth MLA defects to TDP

Fifth MLA defects to TDP

A fifth YSR Congress MLA has defected to the ruling TDP in the last few days, amid demands from the main opposition that the turncoats must resign their Assembly membership and seek fresh mandate.

TDP leader and Chief Minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu personally welcomed Badvel (Kadapa) MLA Tiriveedhi Jayaramulu, whose switching of support to the ruling party follows two other Kadapa leaders, Jammalamadugu MLA C Adinarayana Reddy and his brother and MLC C Narayana Reddy.

Naidu welcomed the leader at his residence in Amaravati.

Talking to media, Jayaramulu said he joined the TDP to develop his constituency. “I quit my post as municipal commissioner to join YSRC and serve the Badvel constituency,” he said.
“I have come to TDP since I realise I will not be able to fulfil the demands of my constituency by remaining in YSRC,” the MLA added.

YSR Congress, on the other hand, has accused Chandrababu Naidu of maintaining double standards when it comes to defection.

While the AP Chief Minister was crying foul in Telangana when legislators of his own party switched to the TRS, he lures defectors from YSRC in Andhra Pradesh.