Hockey tourney from March 27 in Madikeri

 In the history of Karnataka State Hockey Association, this is the first time that super divisional Hockey League tournament is being held outside Bangalore. The first phase of the tournament will be held between March 27 and April 6. The second phase of the tournament will be held between April 7 and 18. Addressing a press meet on Friday, Coorg Hockey Association President Nellamakkada Mohan Ayyappa said the prestigious teams like MEG, ASC, PCTC, Army 11 Green, IAF, Central excise, HAL, SAI,KSP, Canara Bank, Army 11-Red, will take part. Every team has to play seven matches.

The players who are representing India in hockey including Bharath Chetri, V R Raghunath, Dhananjay Madhik, Ignesh Tarkey, Vikramkanth, Thushar Khandekar, Deepak Takur, Prabhojith Singh, Rajpal Singh and others are likely to take part in the tournament. The winners will get Rs 1.5 lakh, Rs 1 lakh and Rs 50,000 prize money respectively.

Bangalore Agriculture University Vice-Chancellor Dr P G Chengappa, Arjun awardee Ignesh Turkey, Arjun Halappa, Dhananjay Madhik will be felicitated on the occasion.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)