Janapada awards on April 3

Informing this to reporters here on Wednesday, Academy Chairman Go Ru Channabasappa said the Academy had been honouring folklore artistes and scholars by giving them awards every year. This year 29 artistes and four scholars had been selected for the awards.

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa would confer the awards. Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister Jagdish Shettar would preside over the awards presentation function, he added.

Channabasappa said for the first time in the Academy history, all the award winning artistes and scholars would be taken out in decorated bullock carts before the presentation of  the awards.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)