BBMP to get 2 more zones for better monitoring of projects

BBMP to get 2 more zones for better monitoring of projects

 The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike will have 10 zones instead of the existing eight.
This was decided at a meeting chaired by Bengaluru Development Minister K J George with the additional chief secretary Mahendra Jain, Mayor G Padmavathi, Deputy Mayor M Anand and members of the BBMP restructuring committee.

Sources in the urban development department said the BBMP restructuring committee members felt that the three zones of old Bengaluru – East, West and South zones – are burdened with a large number of wards. It was pointed out that South Zone has 44 wards whereas Dasarahalli Zone has only eight. It was also highlighted that the Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Mahadevapura zones have vast areas to deal with.

Mayor G Padmavathi told DH that it has often been discussed that boundaries of the existing zones lack a rationale and that there is a need for restructuring them.

“There will be two more zones in the BBMP. They could most probably be Krishnarajapuram and Yeshwantpur. The three zones of old zones will also be restructured for administrative convenience,” said the Mayor.

Long-pending proposal

Sources in the BBMP said the restructuring of the zones was a long-pending proposal. Even the BBMP restructuring committee had recommended increasing the number of zones for administrative purposes.

Officers in core Bengaluru, specially in South Zone find it difficult to travel from one end to another to monitor work, affecting execution of public projects.