Biddatanda Cup: Anjaparavanda, Kallichanda march

Two-time champions Anjaparavanda continued their dream run with a facile 2-0 victory against Ammatanda in the preliminary round tie in Kodava family hockey tournament for Biddatanda Cup at General K S Thimayya Stadium at Cheriyaparambu nere here on Thursday.

Ranjan Mutthappa and Saran Karyappa scored a goal apiece for the four-time finalist Anjaparavanda, known for a fine tradition in hockey. Former India custodian A B Subbaiah belongs to Anjaparavanda clan.

In the other match of the day, Kallichanda edged out Mukkateera 2-0. Darshan and Swahan sounded the board once. Meriyanda, riding on a brace by Ayyanna, saw off Kodanda 2-0.

Odiyanda and Maletira were involved in a edge-of-seat thriller. In a match that swung one way or the other, Odiyanda managed to clinch the nervy battle 3-2. Keerthan Karyappa, Manju Mandanna and Vins Poovanna netted goals for Odiyanda while M Nachappa and Ayyappa scored one each for Maletira.

Kallengada steamrolled Keethiyanda 5-0 in a one-sided contest. Kallengada Changappa, Bopanna, Subbaiah and Monisha produced a sterling performance in Kallengada’s win.

Other results
Kodimaniyanda beat Nayakanda 2-1; Areyanda beat Inanda 2-1; Macchamada beat Allapanda 3-2; Manvattira beat Bollachettira 4-1; Kambiranda beat Puttichanda 5-4 via (tie-breaker); Berera beat Maletira (Kuklur) 2-0.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0