M'lore varsity to confer Honoris Causa on 7 including Oscar, Mohan Alva

Union Minister Shashi Tharoor to deliver convocation address on April 6

M'lore varsity to confer Honoris Causa on 7 including Oscar, Mohan Alva

They are: Dr Rakesh Kumar Bhandari, Director, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Bidhan Nagar, Calcutta,  (Nuclear Scientist); Dr M Mohan Alva, Chairman, Alva’s Education Foundation, Moodbidri (Educationist, promoter of sports and culture); A S Vishnu Bharat, Chartered Accountant, Vishnu Bharath & Co, Bangalore (Social Service); Madhura M Chatrapathy, Trustee & Director, Asian Centre for Entrepreneurial Initiatives, Bangalore (Social Worker); former Union minister Oscar Fernandes (Social Service); Kolyur Ramachandra Rao, Udupi (Artist); and R Chenraj Jain, Chairman, Jain Group of Institutions, Bangalore (Educationist, Social Worker and Philanthropist).
While Dr Bhandari will be conferred D.Sc (Honoris Causa), the rest will be conferred D.Litt (Honoris Causa).

Prof Murthy also said that the University will confer one Doctor of Science (DSc) in Materials Science and 62 Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees (Arts-14, Science-40 and Commerce-8). There will be a total of 30 gold medals and 56 cash prizes.
In total, there are 70 ranks (PG-48, UG-22, Arts-18, Science-31, Commerce-14, Law-4 and Education-3).

950 students
Giving details about the results of 2008-09, Prof Murthy said that out of the 18,648 students who appeared for the examinations, 12,954 (69.47%) passed. While 2,043 students (92.53%) passed in post graduate courses, 10,836 students (66.25%) passed in under graduate courses and 75 students (88.24%) passed the PG diploma courses.
They included 13 PG courses, 21 UG courses and 3 diploma courses. Out of the 12,954 candidates passed, 950 students will receive their degrees in person during the convocation.

Shashi Tharoor guest
Union Minister of State for External Affairs Dr Shashi Tharoor will be the chief guest and deliver the convocation address while Higher Education Minister and Pro Chancellor Aravinda Limbavali will be present and Governor H R Bharadwaj will preside over the programme.

Mangalore University Registrar (Administration) Prof K Chinnappa Gowda, Registrar (Evaluation) Prof P S Yedapadithaya, Science faculty Dean Prof K K Achary and University College Principal Lakshminarayan Bhatta among others were present.
DH News Service

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0