Bowlers shine for Bangalore

Bowlers shine for Bangalore

All-round Aditya dazzles as President's XI claim 3 points

Bowlers shine for Bangalore
Bangalore Zone bowlers complemented their batsmen’s effort with a decent bowling effort to help their side gain three points from the drawn encounter against Bangalore City XI in the SA Srinivasan memorial (under-23) tournament here at the Aditya Global ground on Wednesday.

In the second and final day, resuming from 28 for no loss and trailing Bangalore Zone by 435 runs, Bangalore City posted 347 for nine in the allotted 90 overs.

After their bowlers struggled on the first day, Bangalore City’s spirited batting effort was led by Rohith Gowda (98) and Sujith NG (59). However, a three-wicket haul from Rajat Hegde (3/77) and two wickets apiece for Vyshak Vijaykumar (2/60), Deepesh Poonia (2/76) and Adhoksh (2/86) helped Bangalore Zone walk away with innings honours.

All-round show by Aditya

In another tie at RSI, Aditya Somanna followed up his fine bowling performance with a gutsy 97-ball 83 to help President XI’s score three points after their tie against Combined Mofussil XI ended in a draw.

After bundling out Combined Mofussil for 227 on the opening day, President’s XI posted 390 all out in 88.2 overs, taking a handsome lead of 163 runs in the process. Aditya was the top scorer while Desmond Anthony (70) and Sharath Srinivas (60) also scored half-centuries.

Combined Mofussil struggled in their second hit too and were 177/7 in 45 overs when the match ended.

Brief scores: At Aditya Global: Bangalore Zone: 463/5 in 90 overs drew with Bangalore City XI (O/n: 28/0): 347/9 in 90 overs (Rajkumar SM 28, Sujith NG 59, Rohith Gowda 98, Anchit 44, Pranav Bhatia 48; Deepesh Poonia 2-76, Vyshak Vijaykumar 2-60, Adhoksh 2-86, Rajat Hegde 3-77).

Bangalore Zone: 3 points; Bangalore City XI: 1 point.

At RSI: Combined Mofussil XI: 227 all out in 61.5 overs and 177/7 in 45 overs (Lal Sachin 63, Pawan Raj 26, Yogesh 45; Lochan Appanna 2-19, KM Wadhwani 2-30) drew with President’s XI (O/n: 139/3): 390 all out in 88.2 overs (Desmond Antony 70, Milind Ramesh 29, Rishi Bopanna 27, Sharath Srinivas 60, Aditya Somanna 83, Prashanth Subbarayappa 25, Likhit Bannur 44; YodhanHruday GS 2-31, Yogesh 3-32).

President’s XI: 3; Combined Mofussil: 1.

At Alur: Mofussil XI (O/n: 295/7): 331 all out in 89.5 overs (Preetham 49, Kishan Bedare 121, MS Bhandage 39, Darshan MB 42; Sharan Gouda 4-65, Vikash Kumar Sinha -62) drew with Combined City XI: 372/5 in 90 overs (Arjun SP 46, Shrikara 113, Shrijith KL 103, Rohan Nayakar 41, Anurag Bajpai 50).

Combined City XI: 3; Mofussil XI: 1.