Higher Education Minister 'fails'

Aravind Limbavali lone flop among BJP ministers in BBMP polls

Higher Education Minister 'fails'

Of the eight wards in the Mahadevpura Assembly constituency represented by  Limbavali, the ruling BJP has won only one, while the seven went in favour of the Congress. The BJP won in Doddanekkundi ward. Limbavali, a native of Bagalkot, contested from Mahadevpura constituency in the last Assembly elections and won. He also succeeded in getting a Cabinet berth.

Apparently, Limbavali was upset with selection of candidates for a few wards. He kept off from campaigning in Garudachar Palya ward for the same reason. Chief Minister Yeddyurappa also did not bother to campaign in these wards except Marathahalli. Anand Kumar, who contested from Hoodi on the BJP ticket, held infighting in the party as reason for the poor show. “Even at booth level there are three-four factions of the BJP”, he said.
Other ministers representing Assembly constituencies in the city - S Suresh Kumar, R Ashok and Katta Subramanya Naidu performed well in the polls. The BJP won in six of the seven wards in the Rajajinagar Assembly constituency, represented by Suresh Kumar.

The BJP won five wards each in Padmanabhanagar and Hebbal, represented by Ashok and Naidu respectively. The party won only two seats in Yeshwanthpura, represented by former BJP minister Shobha Karandlaje.
DH News Service

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)