Dalit leaders to support JD(S)

Dalit leaders to support JD(S)

Dalit leaders have decided to support JD(S) in the upcoming Assembly election, said BSP district president Udaykumar Tallur.

Speaking to reporters here, he said that there are 1.50 crore SC community members in the state and BSP will field its candidates in 20 Assembly constituencies including Karkala. Of the five constituencies in Udupi, JD(S) will field its candidates in four constituencies.

JD(S) district president Yogish Shetty Kaup said, "During his 20-month tenure as chief minister, H D Kumaraswamy proved that he is a Jana Nayaka. If the JD(S) comes to power, then the honorarium for Asha workers, senior citizens, and physically challenged will be increased."

He said that Birthi Gangadhar will contest from Udupi, Ravi Shetty from Baindoor and Prakash Shetty Thekkatte from Kundapura. The high command will announce the name of the candidate from Kaup constituency shortly, he said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily