State RS poll on June 17

The four MPs who will retire are: Oscar Fernandes, B K Hariprasad [both Congress], M Venkaiah Naidu [BJP] and MAM Ramaswamy [JD-S], with their last day in the Upper House being June 30. According to the EC, the issue of notifications will be made on May 31 and the last date for nominations will be June 7. Scrutiny of nominations will be made the next day and the last date for withdrawal of nominations will be June 10. Polling will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on June 17 while counting will be done the same day, from 5 pm.

Among those who retire include Union Ministers Ambika Soni and Jairam Ramesh. The elections will be held for 11 seats in UP, six each in Maharashtra and TN, five in Bihar, four in Rajasthan, three each in Orissa and Madhya Pradesh, two each in Chhattisgarh, Punjab and Jharkhand and one in Uttarakhand.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)