Rajapaksa to be new chairman of G-15

Rajapaksa will serve as the chairman of the grouping, of which India is also a member, for a two-year term.The G-15 Summit to be held in Tehran on Monday will focus on cooperation among developing countries in the areas of investment, trade and technology.The grouping accounts for one third of the global population and consists of some of the biggest economies of the world, an official release said here today.

Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Venezuela and Zimbabwe are members of the group.

The Group also regularly reviews the impact of international economic developments and seeks to encourage a productive North-South dialogue aimed at finding ways of dealing with problems, in a cooperative manner, it said.

As the Chair of the G-15, Sri Lanka would be entrusted the responsibility of articulating the aspirations of the developing world."Sri Lanka will also build on the work done by previous Chairs of the Group, to add to South-South cooperation," it said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)