Telgi gets 7 more years, Rs one lakh fine

Telgi gets 7 more years, Rs one lakh fine

With this, Special Court completes hearing all cases registered in State

Telgi gets 7 more years, Rs one lakh fine

The court has also ordered him to pay a fine of Rs one lakh failing which to serve four more years in jail.

With the sentence, the Special Court completes the hearing of all the nine cases registered in Karnataka related to the scam.

Telgi and 16 of his associates - Badruddin, Rafi Ahmed, Sadashiva, Abdul Wahid, Abdul Khuddus, Sachin Kalage, Sarfaraz Nawaz, Illiyas Ahmed, Sadiq Ibrahim Hudli, Nizamuddin, Siddu, Mohammed Asif, Mansoor, Suleman, Deepak and Jacob Chacko were convicted on September 14 under section 259 of the IPC for possessing material necessary for counterfeiting stamp papers. 

"As you have not been taken into custody for investigation in this case, you will have to undergo imprisonment for the complete term (seven years)," the Judge told Telgi on Saturday. They all were produced before the court using video conferencing facility.

In his 1056-page judgement, the Judge has ordered that each of the Telgi’s 16 accomplices will have to undergo imprisonment of five years and a fine of Rs 20,000. But, Telgi, Badruddin, Sadiq Ibrahim Hudli, Mohammed Asif, Mansoor, Suleman, Deepak and Jacob Chacko have to serve the complete term of imprisonment. However, Abdul Khuddus, another accomplice of Telgi, who has completed period of sentence in prison for more than five years will be set free by paying the fine amount.

However, Telgi’s counsel M T Nanaiah said that an appeal will be filed against the sentence order for considering the period Telgi has spent in Bangalore and Pune’s Yerwada prison since 2002. Telgi is going to  complete 10 years of stay in the prison by November this year.

Earlier convictions

* March 24, 2007: Telgi, Badruddin, Irfan Ahmed, Wazir Ahmed Salik and Pradeep Kumar were sentenced for 10 years RI and fine of Rs 42.75 lakh for cheating government and Peenya-based Sami Labs.

*  April 23, 2007: Telgi, Badruddin, Anees Khan, Mohammed Illiyas, Wazir Ahmed Salik awarded 10 years of RI and fine of Rs 4.94 lakh for cheating the Government and a private company.

*  June 21, 2007: Telgi and two doctors from Victoria Hospital sentenced to seven years RI. Telgi had  bribed the two doctors to avaial false medical certificates to get bail.

*  December 15, 2007: Telgi, Badruddin, Wazir Ahmed Salik, Pradeep Kumar awarded five years RI.

*  March 29, 2008: Telgi, police inspector Wali Pasha and Sub Inspector V A Khan acquitted in a case accusing police officers of subverting a case related to stamp paper scam.

*  April 17, 2009: Telgi and seven others were sentenced to undergo seven years RI for preparing and selling fake stamp papers in Bangalore’s City Market police station limits.

*  February 17, 2010: Telgi to undergo 10 years RI and 18 others to undergo seven years RI.

*  September 14, 2010: Telgi and 16 others convicted for possessing counterfeit stamp papers and the materials used for preparing them. They were acquitted of charges under the Karnataka Control of Organised Crime Act, Karnataka Stamp Act and Prevention of Corruption Act.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox