Residents oppose toll gate on Hejamady approach road

Residents oppose toll gate on Hejamady approach road

Local residents staged a protest on Monday, opposing the move of the National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) to construct a toll gate on the Hejamady approach road and evacuating the petty shops near Hejamady toll gate.

The protesters, who staged a stir under the aegis of Nagarika Horata Samiti, said that the Gram Panchayat had objected to the construction of a toll gate near Guddeyangadi at Hejamady two years ago. Later, the district administration assured of providing facilities for the residents. But, the promise has not been fulfilled, they complained.

Hejamady Gram Panchayat president Vishalakshi Putran alleged that the Navayug company, the contractor has not paid 2% grant to the Gram Panchayat. When the notice was served to the company in connection with an illegal construction in the panchayat limit, the company authorities gave a threat call to the concerned Gram Panchayat authority.


The new legislator of Kaup Lalaji Mendon arrived on the spot and assured the protesters of an amicable solution after conducting a meeting with the deputy commissioner and the superintendent of police. He, meanwhile, asked the concerned parties to stop the construction of toll gate near Guddeyangadi till the meeting is convened.

The Navayug was about to clear more than 20 petty shops near the toll gate. But the move was opposed by protesters. They said that the move of the company is inhuman. The Nagarika Horata Samiti members Gulam Muhammed and Shekhar Hejamadi said that demands placed before the company to construct skywalk, service road and water supply to Borugudde area have not been met.

Notices to shops

Navayuga toll manager Ravi Babu said that the petty shop owners were served notices on Saturday as they had encroached the land belonging to the national highway, near Hejamady toll plaza. Also, the petty shops were lying in the accident zone and causing hindrance to the movement of vehicles.

Zilla Panchayat member Shashikanth Padubidri, Gram Panchayat vice president Sudhakar Karkera, members Pranesh Hejamadi, Sachin G Nayak, Panduranga Karkera, Sandesh and Sharan Mattu were present.