Sikkim Assembly Elections 2024: Kabi Lungchuk Constituency result

Check out the interactive map to know the winners, candidate performance and party performance in the Kabi Lungchuk constituency in the Sikkim Assembly elections.
Last Updated : 02 June 2024, 11:16 IST
Last Updated : 02 June 2024, 11:16 IST

Follow Us :


Thenlay Tshering Bhutia of SKM won the Kabi Lungchuk seat in the 2024 Legislative Assembly elections in Sikkim, by a margin of 1693 votes.

The Kabi Lungchuk constituency in the North district of Sikkim went to polls on April 19, 2024. Over 4.64 lakh voters in the state were eligible to exercise their franchise in the Legislative Assembly elections this year, which are being held alongside the Lok Sabha elections. However, unlike some states which are voting in multiple phases, Sikkim voted in a single phase, for both the Assembly and the Lok Sabha polls.

The term of the 32-member Legislative Assembly is slated to end on June 2, 2024.

What happened in the 2019 Legislative Assembly elections?

Kabi Lungchuk is one of the 17 Assembly seats won by the SKM in the 2019 Legislative Assembly elections.

In the 2019 elections, Kabi Lungchuk constituency had 13430 voters, and saw a voter turnout of 76.4 %.

SKM candidate Karma Loday Bhutia won the Kabi Lungchuk constituency in the 2019 elections, with a margin of 1437 votes.

The 2019 Legislative Assembly elections in Sikkim was largely a bi-polar contest, with the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) and the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) dividing all 32 seats amongst themselves, and capturing nearly 95% of the votes in the state.

While the SKM bagged 17 seats, the SDF came a close second, with 15. National heavyweights BJP and the Congress also contested the polls, but failed to win a single seat, with the BJP garnering a mere 1.62% vote share, and the Congress managing an even lesser 0.77%.

Subsequently, after the polls, the SKM, which made its debut in the 2014 Assembly elections in Sikkim, formed the government, with party founder Prem Singh Tamang as the Chief Minister.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | Will it be Narendra Modi's 'Viksit Bharat' or Rahul Gandhi's I.N.D.I.A? As the world's largest democracy votes to choose its future, track live news, in-depth opinions, and analyses only on Deccan Herald.

Assembly Elections 2024 | Don't miss out on our detailed coverage of the polls in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha. Subscribe and follow DH on Whatsapp, X, Facebook, and Instagram to never miss out on anything.

Published 01 June 2024, 22:30 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us