Sikkim Assembly Elections 2024: Tumen-Lingi Constituency result

Check out the interactive map to know the winners, candidate performance and party performance in the Tumen-Lingi constituency in the Sikkim Assembly elections.
Last Updated : 02 June 2024, 11:06 IST
Last Updated : 02 June 2024, 11:06 IST

Follow Us :


Samdup Tshering Bhutia of SKM won the Tumen-Lingi seat in the 2024 Legislative Assembly elections in Sikkim, by a margin of 4088 votes.

The Tumen-Lingi constituency in the South district of Sikkim went to polls on April 19, 2024. Over 4.64 lakh voters in the state were eligible to exercise their franchise in the Legislative Assembly elections this year, which are being held alongside the Lok Sabha elections. However, unlike some states which are voting in multiple phases, Sikkim voted in a single phase, for both the Assembly and the Lok Sabha polls.

The term of the 32-member Legislative Assembly is slated to end on June 2, 2024.

What happened in the 2019 Legislative Assembly elections?

Tumen-Lingi is one of the 15 Assembly seats won by the SDF in the 2019 Legislative Assembly elections.

In the 2019 elections, Tumen-Lingi constituency had 16086 voters, and saw a voter turnout of 81.7 %.

SDF candidate Ugen T. Gyatso Bhutia won the Tumen-Lingi constituency in the 2019 elections, with a margin of 320 votes.

The 2019 Legislative Assembly elections in Sikkim was largely a bi-polar contest, with the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) and the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) dividing all 32 seats amongst themselves, and capturing nearly 95% of the votes in the state.

While the SKM bagged 17 seats, the SDF came a close second, with 15. National heavyweights BJP and the Congress also contested the polls, but failed to win a single seat, with the BJP garnering a mere 1.62% vote share, and the Congress managing an even lesser 0.77%.

Subsequently, after the polls, the SKM, which made its debut in the 2014 Assembly elections in Sikkim, formed the government, with party founder Prem Singh Tamang as the Chief Minister.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | Will it be Narendra Modi's 'Viksit Bharat' or Rahul Gandhi's I.N.D.I.A? As the world's largest democracy votes to choose its future, track live news, in-depth opinions, and analyses only on Deccan Herald.

Assembly Elections 2024 | Don't miss out on our detailed coverage of the polls in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha. Subscribe and follow DH on Whatsapp, X, Facebook, and Instagram to never miss out on anything.

Published 01 June 2024, 22:30 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us