10 things you should know about National War Memorial

Last Updated 25 February 2019, 07:36 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday is set to inaugurate the National War Memorial in New Delhi. Here are ten facts about the first of its kind memorial in India.

1. The names of 25,942 martyred soldiers have been inscribed on the National War Memorial.

2. Soldiers, who were martyred during the wars after independence namely the 1947-48 Pakistan, 1962 China, 1999 Kargil, Operation Parakram in 2002-04, UN Peacekeeping Missions and counterinsurgency and other internal security operations, will be featured at the War Memorial.

3. There is a special enclosure for 21 Param Vir Chakra recipients.

4. The name of Indian Army jawans till December 2017 and Indian Air Force and Navy's till January 2018 were finalised for featuring in war memorial. More names will be added in the future after conducting periodic reviews.

5. The four circles symbolise the Chakravyuh, the ancient war formation.

6. A 15-metre tall central obelisk with State Emblem of India - Lion Capital of Ashoka on the top and an eternal flame will burn at the bottom.

7. The Amar Jawan Jyoti will be shifted to the new memorial. The wreath-laying ceremony on Republic Day and Independence Day will be held at the War Memorial hereafter.

8. 40 acres of land was given to the project team of Indian Army in February 2018 to build the memorial near the iconic India Gate.

9. A Chennai-based architect designed the structure.

10. The entry will be free for visitors with time restrictions.

(Published 25 February 2019, 07:12 IST)

Follow us on