Haryana govt suspends senior IPS officer, two DSPs

Last Updated 25 February 2016, 15:51 IST

Haryana government today suspended senior IPS officer and former IGP Rohtak, Shrikant Jadhav and two DSPs following allegations of omission and commission in containing the Jat reservation agitation and related violence in Rohtak.

"Former Rohtak IG Shrikant Jadhav and two Rohtak DSPs Amit Dahiya and Amit Bhatia have been suspended with immediate effect," Haryana's Additional Chief Secretary (Home) P K Das said this evening.

When asked on what charges they had been suspended, he said, "this is on the basis of allegations of omission and commission in containing agitation and related violence in Rohtak".

On February 21, the Haryana government had shifted IG of Rohtak Range Shrikant Jadhav amid the Jat agitation in the state which claimed 28 lives.

Jadhav had later been posted as IG State Crime Record Bureau, Madhuban.

Rohtak, Jhajjar and Meham, which fall under Rohtak Range, had been the worst-hit areas of Jat stir, with miscreants torching several shops, vehicles and commercial establishments and causing heavy damage to property, besides indulging in vandalism.

The Haryana Government today also transferred six police officers with immediate effect including those who were posted in the worst-hit areas like Rohtak and Meham.
The DSPs of Meham, Rohtak and Gohana--Surinder Singh, Sukhbir Singh and Vinod Kumar have been shuffled.

Surinder Singh will swap his place of posting with Gurdiyal Singh, who is currently DSP, State Crime Branch.

Sukhbir Singh will swap his place with Shamsher Singh, DSP, State Crime Branch while Vinod Kumar, been posted as Assistant Commissioner of Police, Faridabad.
Rajesh Kumar, DSP, First IRB Bhondsi has been posted as DSP, Gohana.

On February 23, Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar had faced "hostile" crowd when he visited violence-hit Jat dominated Rohtak district to take stock of the situation.
The Chief Minister had said that the state government would also take strict action against those officers be it from district administration or police department for dereliction in duty.

"Those government officers and police officers who made any lapse in performing their duty, the state government will take action against them," he had said.

Sanjay Kumar, IGP, Administration, Panchkula has been posted as IGP, Rohtak Range, Rohtak, against vacancy, an official release said.

Veer Singh, ACP, Faridabad has been posted as DSP, Rohtak.

Vivek Chaudhary, DSP, Mewat has been posted as DSP, Rohtak, it said.

(Published 25 February 2016, 15:50 IST)

Follow us on