CWG medalist to take on Olympian Rathore in Jaipur

CWG medalist to take on Olympian Rathore in Jaipur

 Krishna Poonia. PTI file photo

Congress on Monday night fielded Commonwealth Games gold medalist Krishna Punia against Union Minister and Olympian Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore from Jaipur Rural Lok Sabha seat.

Punia, who won the gold medal in discus throw event in the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games, is a sitting MLA from Rajasthan's Sadulpur assembly seat.

In the much-awaited Pune Lok Sabha seat, Congress has opted for Mohan Joshi, a local leader with strong grassroots connect, against Maharashtra minister and senior BJP leader Girish Bapat.

Industrialist Riju Jhunjhunwala will contest from Rajasthan's Ajmer Lok Sabha seat, while Devkinandan Gurjar has been fielded from Rajasmand.

In Ganganagar, Congress leader Bharatram Meghwal will take on BJP's Nihalchand, while Rampal Sharma will be in the fray from Bhilwara. Pramod Sharma is the candidate from Jhalawar-Baran, where Dushyant Singh, the son of former chief minister Vasundhara Raje, is the BJP candidate.

In Maharashtra, Dr Ulhas Patil has been fielded from Raver Lok Sabha seat against sitting MP Raksha Khadse of the BJP.

Congress leader AJ Patel has been fielded from Mehsana Lok Sabha seat.

With the nine candidates declared on Monday night, Congress has announced nominees for 325 Lok Sabha seats so far.