10 things to know about Madhya Pradesh elections

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and BJP State President Rakesh Singh. PTI Photo

The BJP and the Congress are in close combat in Madhya Pradesh. The second largest state in the country plays a prominent part in BJP-dominated parts of North India. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is waiting to rule for a fourth time, while the Congress-led by senior leader Kamal Nath is moving in to gain the heart of the Hindi belt.

1. Elections were held on Nov. 28 for 230 Assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh. There were 2,900 candidates in the fray. In the November 2013 elections, the BJP won 165 and the Congress secured 55 seats. The BJP has ruled the state for the last 15 years.

READ: LIVE - Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections results: BJP, Cong neck and neck

2. The BJP chose Shivraj Singh Chouhan as the chief ministerial candidate and he ruled for 15 years. Chouhan took the chief minister's seat after replacing Babulal Gaur. For the fourth time, Chouhan contested from the Budhni constituency. He has won the constituency since 2003. If the Congress makes it through, the party has to choose between Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia for the chief ministership.

3. Once a strong contender for the prime ministership, Chouhan's image was tainted after the Vyapam scam. Other allegations like the dumper scam also surfaced against him.

4. The BJP is battling anti-incumbency in MP as well as Chhattisgarh.

5. The Congress won the state in 1998 and Digvijay Singh became the chief minister. In the 2003 elections, the Congress was reduced to 39 seats.

6. The Congress won 58, the BSP 4, independents 3 and the rest were won by BJP (165) in the 2013 elections.

7. 15 members from Madhya Pradesh will be elected to the Lok Sabha. Hence, Madhya Pradesh is crucial for both the BJP and the Congress to gain influence in national politics.

8. Scindia was selected as State President of the Congress and Kamal Nath also rose to prominence in the party. If the Congress wins the state, a battle for the chief minister's post will begin as supporters of Kamal Nath and Scindia push for their leader to be given the position.

9. In the last five years, the state witnessed farmer protests in rural areas. The tribal belt stood with the Congress in these elections.

10. The battle in these 2018 elections was neck and neck all the way through counting day.


10 things to know about Madhya Pradesh elections 

7 things to know about Telangana elections

Rajasthan Assembly Election Results: 8 things to know

Chhattisgarh: 5 things you should know


Results 2018: Raj, C'garh, MP to Cong

Results an Opposition lesson as people want change

Cong confident of forming govt in Rajasthan: Pilot

Comments (+)