Cong's high-power committee in Chhattisgarh

Cong's high-power committee in Chhattisgarh

 Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee chief Bhupesh Baghel

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Thursday formed a seven member ‘Core Committee’ to take decisions and formulate strategy for the upcoming polls and undertake the poll campaign in Chhattisgarh.

Chhattisgarh is to witness the polls in two phases and the first round to file nominations starts from October 16 for the first phase.

Party sources said that this decision is seen as downsizing the power of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee chief Bhupesh Baghel.

Till now, Baghel has been leading from the front but now is made a member of the committee.

A joint responsibility has been now assigned to the high power Core Committee.

The committee will look after all the activities of the state party unit as well as will decide about the election campaign.

AICC general secretary Ashok Gehlot, in a press communiqué, informed that Rahul Gandhi had formed a seven member Core Committee comprising P L Punia, state in-charge of AICC ; Bhupesh Baghel, T S  Singhdeo, leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh; former Union ministers Charandas Mahant and Arvind Netam; Kamala Manhar and Tamradhwaj Sahu, Member of Parliament from Durg.

The action is seen as an attempt of ending factionalism which was reportedly witnessed after a sting operation on Baghel.

Party sources pointed out that the high command was also reported to be angry over the way the sleaze-CD issue was tackled by Baghel.