MCD bypolls: AAP wins 5, Cong- 4 and BJP-3

MCD bypolls: AAP wins 5, Cong- 4 and BJP-3

MCD bypolls: AAP wins 5, Cong- 4 and BJP-3

In a setback to BJP which dominated the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, the party managed to win only from three seats while the AAP made its debut by winning five seats and the Congress wrested four seats in the bypolls to 13 wards.

The AAP fell short of its expectations of a "clean sweep" in the polls, which was billed as a barometer of Kejriwal government's popularity in Delhi, while Congress's victory was seen as the indication of party's revival in the city after it drew blank in the last assembly and Lok Sabha polls in Delhi.

One Congress rebel won as an Independent from the Bhati ward in South Delhi.
The MCD, which was trifurcated in 2012, has been a BJP-ruled body for nearly a decade. Out of the 13 wards, seven were previously held by BJP, one by RLD, and five by Independents.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal thanked the people for helping the party emerge as the largest party in MCD bypolls.

"MCD ruled by BJP-Cong. Outsider AAP wins max seats in byelection. Thnx Delhi for reaffirming faith. Ab MCD election mein sabhi seat jeetni h," he said in a twwet.
Congress was ecstatic with its win in four wards.

"It's a very big victory for us," said Delhi Congress president Ajay Maken pointing out that all the four wards won by the party were not won by it even in 2007 and 2012 MCD elections.

He also expressed hope that party rebel Rajender Singh Tanwar will join Congress bringing the party's tally on par with AAP.

"Rajender is expected to join Congress. It is also noteworthy that our candidate from Bhati ward Joginder Tanwar was runner up in the election," Maken said.

Out of the thirteen wards, AAP won from Matiala, Tekhand, Nanakpura and Vikas Nagar wards.

Congress candidates won in Quamaruddin Nagar, Munirka, Khichripur and Jhilmil wards.

Congress candidate Yogita Rathi won from the all-women candidate ward Munirka while party candidates Anand Kumar and Pankaj defeated ex MLAs fielded by BJP from Khichripur and Jhilmil wards in East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

BJP, which had won 7 out of the 13 wards in 2012 MCD elections, won Wazirpur, Nawada and Shalimar Bagh (North) wards.

In terms of voting percentage BJP garnered the maximum 34.11 votes despite winning only in three wards. AAP obtained 29.93 percent votes while Congress got 24.87 percent votes while winning 5 and 4 wards respectively.

BJP was also runner up in the 8 wards which were won by AAP and Congress.
Congress candidate from Qamaruddin Nagar Ashok Bhardwaj won by the highest margin of 7434 votes by defeating BJP's Anil Sinha.

The lowest margin of victory was 522 votes by which AAP's Anil Malik won keenly contested Nanakpura ward by defeating BJP candidate Nitin Sharma.

The final tally of winners and their victory margins were AAP- Mohammad Sadiq(2066) Ballimaran, Ashok Kumar(1084) Vikas Nagar, Ramesh(753) Matiala, Anil Malik(522) Nanakpura, and Abhishek Bidhuri(1555) Tekhand ward.

Congress- Ashok Bhardwaj(7434) Qamaruddin Nagar, Yogita Rathee(770) Munirka, Ananad Kumar(1109) Khichripur, and Pankaj(3419) Jhilmil ward.

BJP- Bhupinder Mohan Bhandari(1451) Shalimar Bagh(North), Krishan Gahlot(4843) Nawada, and Dr Mahender Nagpal (3608) Wazirpur ward.

Nagpal was the only ex MLA among the three fielded by BJP who won the ward election.

Congress rebel Rajender Singh Tanwar won by a margin of 3152 votes from Bhati ward.

The Delhi State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta said that counting process went on peacefully.

"The counting went on peacefully and smoothly. Thirteen centres were set up to count 3,06,677 votes polled on May 15 which comprised 45.9 per cent of the total number of eligible voters," he said.

A total of 95 candidates were in the fray in bypolls voting for which were polling were held on 694 stations. BJP, Congress and AAP had fielded candidates each for all the 13 wards.