Parliament adjourned till noon after Opposition uproar

Parliament adjourned till noon after Opposition uproar

Vociferous protests by BJP and SP members for recall of Governor Kamala Beniwal and dismissal of UP government were witnessed as soon as the two Houses assembled for the day.

The Upper House sat hardly for a few minutes, while the Lok Sabha took up the Question Hour but opposition uproar forced Speaker Meira Kumar to adjourn it after 10 minutes.
BJP members trooped into the well demanding recall of the Gujarat Governor for her controversial appointment of the Lokayukta "violating" the Constitution by not consulting the Narendra Modi government.

Arjun Ram Meghwal, Saroj Pandey, Ganesh Singh and Sanjay Jaiswal (all BJP) chanted 'Stop murder of democracy in Gujarat', 'Recall Gujarat Governor', 'Rescind the decision to appoint Lokayukta in Gujarat'.

SP members led by Akhilesh Yadav also rushed to the well demanding dismissal of the Mayawati government accusing it of indulging in "widespread corruption".

They raised slogans like 'Now it is clear, Mayawati is Corrupt', 'Dismiss UP government', referring to reports in a section of the media quoting US embassy cables disclosed by WikiLeaks.

Dara Singh Chauhan of BSP, which is in power in UP, was seen countering the SP members.

The Speaker tried to proceed with the Question Hour but nothing was heard in the din.

NCP members Sameer Bhujbal and Sanjeev Naik were seen flashing the List of Questions at the protesting members gathered in the well demanding Question Hour be taken up.
Amid noisy scenes, the Lok Sabha was adjourned till noon.

In the Rajya Sabha, BJP members trooped into the well as soon as Chairman Hamid Ansari entered the House.

"Please go back to your seats. Speak from there," he told the BJP members who raised slogans against appointment of Lokyukta in Gujarat without consulting the state government.

As Ansari took up the first listed question, BJP members raised slogans against "violation" of Constitution in Gujarat.

"Samvidhan ka ulanghan nahi chalega, nahi chalega (Violation of Constitution will not be tolerated)," they shouted.

Amid din, TDP members displayed posters demanding implementation of MS Swaminathan Committee recommendation of providing liberal credit to farmers in the wake of crop failure in Andhra Pradesh.

JD-U and AIADMK members also raised certain issues which were not heard in the din.
As noisy scenes continued, Ansari adjourned the House till noon.