Yaduveer is new king of Mysuru

Yaduveer is new king of Mysuru

He will be the 27th ruler of Yadu dynasty

Yaduveer is new king of Mysuru

Prince of the erstwhile royal family of Mysuru, Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar, was on Thursday crowned the 27th maharaja of the Yadu dynasty here.

Though a titular king, 22-year-old Yaduveer took charge keeping with the royal family tradition during the Karkataka lagna (between 9:30 am and 10:35 am) at the imposing Kalyana Mantapa inside the Amba Vilas Palace here.

Mysuru got its new king with the priests tying the “chinnada patti” (gold head band)  on the headgear worn by Yaduveer, seated on “Bhadrasana” (silver throne), amid the beating of “gattimela” by a troupe of nadaswara artistes at 10:03 am.

Unlike the crown that is worn by a ruler during the anointment ceremony, the Wadiyars wear a “chinnada patti” heralding the reign of the new king.

The coronation of Yaduveer filled the vacuum created after the death of Srikantadatta  Narasimharaja Wadiyar in December, 2013. The rituals began with Yaduveer offering puja to “Atma Vilasa Ganapathi” at 5:30 am.

The Wadiyars first worship Atma Vilasa Ganapathi before the commencement of any ceremony in the royal household.

Yaduveer then took part in Lakshminarayana homa, Sri Rama Tharaka homa and Umamaheshwara homa, facilitating the commencement of other rituals connected with the coronation ceremony. Yaduveer later worshipped the presiding deity of the royal family, Goddess Chamundeshwari, before entering the Kalyana Mantapa. At 9:40 am, the crown prince circumambulated the silver throne thrice and offered puja before ascending it.

The new maharaja acknowledged the greetings from invitees that included a mix of “Arasu” family members and top politicians from the State. This was followed by offering of “Khillath” and “Nazar”, showing respect and offering gifts, from royal guests and invitees. 

The guest list included former prime minister H D Deve Gowda, Revenue and district in-charge Minister V Srinivas Prasad, Home Minister K J George, Energy Minister D K Shivakumar, Information Minister R Roshan Baig, Tourism Minister R V Deshpande, KPCC  president G Parameshwar, Janata Dal (S) MLA H D Revanna, Lokayukta Y Bhaskar Rao, Upa Lokayukta Subash B Adi, former cricketer Brijesh Patel and senior advocate Nalini Chidambaram, counsel for the Wadiyars in the Supreme Court. However, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah did not attend the ceremony.