Australia win ODI series 2-1 against Pakistan

Australia win ODI series 2-1 against Pakistan

Australia won the third and final One Day International (ODI) cricket match against Pakistan here by three wickets, sealing the series 2-1.

Michael Clarke won the toss electing to bowl first Monday. Hafeez (78) and Jamshed (48) got Pakistan off to a good start. However, after taking the first wicket at 129, the Australians strongly fought back slowing down their opponents.

Pakistan were eventually restricted to 244/7 from their 50 overs as Starc was again the leading wicket-taker with 4/51 while Mitchell Johnson picked up 2/31. In reply, Australia opened with David Hussey (43) and David Warner (21) who set the pace. However, a few quick wickets left Australia in a precarious position.

Australia were 159/5 when Matthew Wade departed and that brought Mike Hussey and Glenn Maxwell together. The pair put on a critical 67-run partnership that took Australia to the brink of victory when Hussey departed for 65.

But Maxwell saw it through to the end with an unbeaten 56, as Australia got home with three overs to spare. Mike Hussey was named the man-of-the-match for his match winning knock while Mitchell Starc was named the player-of-the-series.

The three match T20 series between the two teams begins Wednesday with all three games being played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Brief scores: Pakistan 244/7 (Hafeez 78, Jamshed 48; Starc 4/51) lost to Australia 250/7 (Hussey 65, Maxwell 56 not out; Ajmal 3/37).