Karnataka take on Gujarat in quarters

Karnataka take on Gujarat in quarters

 Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka will square off with Gujarat in one of the quarterfinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on March 11 while hosts Bengal will meet Tamil Nadu on the same date in a day-night encounter at the Eden Gardens.

Apart from Karnataka, Gujarat, Bengal and Tamil Nadu, the other two teams that have got direct entry into the quarterfinals are Punjab and Jharkhand.

The two pre-quarterfinals will be played on March 10 with Railways taking on Baroda in a day-night encounter at the Eden Gardens while Services will take on Vidarbha in a day game at the Jadavpur University ground in Salt Lake.

The winner of the Railways versus Baroda game will take on Punjab in the third quarterfinal while Jharkhand will take on the winner of the Services versus Vidarbha encounter.

All the day-night matches held at the Eden Gardens will be telecast live on Star Sports.

Karnataka retain squad

Pacer R Vinay Kumar will lead Karnataka in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The Ranji and Irani Cup champions have retained the squad that took part in the South Zone one-dayers.

Karnataka have qualified for the knockouts after they finished their South Zone engagements at second place behind Tamil Nadu.

The squad: R Vinay Kumar (capt), Robin Uthappa (vice-capt), KL Rahul, Ganesh Satish, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Shreyas Gopal, Abhimanyu Mithun, HS Sharath, Mayank Agarwal, S Arvind, Ronit More, Abrar Kazi, Amit Verma, Kunal Kapoor; Batting coach: J Arun Kumar, Bowling coach: Mansur Ali Khan.

The knockout schedule: Mar 10: Pre-quarterfinals: Railways vs Baroda (at Eden Gardens) and Services vs Vidarbha.

Mar 11: Quarterfinals: Bengal vs Tamil Nadu (at Eden Gardens) and Gujarat vs Karnataka.
Mar 12: Punjab vs Winner of (Railways vs Baroda) at Eden Gardens and Jharkhand vs Winner of (Services vs Vidarbha).
Mar 14: Semifinal: Winners of Match 3 vs Match 5 at Eden Gardens and Winners of Match 4 vs Match 6.
March 16: Final (at Eden Gardens).
All matches at Eden Gardens are day/night matches and will be telecast live on STAR Sports.